At Kids Chat we provide communication aids such as books, picture-based timetables, social stories and apps for children with complex communication needs.

Did you know you can include communication aids in your child’s NDIS plan?

We are running free workshops in your local area to explain the different communication aids available and how they can be included in your NDIS plan.

Communication aids can help children:

  • get their message across
  • learn new skills
  • reduce anxiety and challenging behaviour
  • follow instructions
  • learn routines.

Free workshop

Come along to a two-hour group workshop. An experienced speech pathologist will be on hand to talk about:

  • non-electronic communication aids
  • how communication aids can help your child
  • how to request the right communication aids in your NDIS plan
  • local services and groups that can support your child.

The workshop is suitable for parents of children with complex communication needs, and teachers and therapists who support them.

Free consultations

We can also offer you a one-hour consultation to provide more individualised information. A speech pathologist will meet with you and your child to discuss your needs and help you find the right aids and supports.

You will also receive a free communication aid at the end of the consultation!

Bookings are essential

For more information, please contact Scope’s Communication & Inclusion Resource Centre on 03 9843 2000 or circ@scopeaust.org.au.

Workshop and Information Consultation Calendar

These details may be subject to change. Please register your interest and we will update you if there are any changes.

 

LocationDAY 1

Workshop (2hrs)

followed by consults

DAY 2

Consults all day

Ballarat

Ballarat South Community Hub

 

Tuesday 31 October 2017

9:30am

Wednesday 1 November 2017
Bendigo

Scope office, 31 – 45 Bennett St, Bendigo

Thursday 30 November 2017

9:30am

Friday 1 December  2017
Box Hill

Venue TBA

 

Monday 16 October 2017

9:30am

Tuesday 17 October 2017
Caulfield

Venue TBA

Monday 5 March 2018

9:30am

Tuesday 6 March 2018
Dandenong

Venue TBA

Monday 7 May 2018

9:30am

Tuesday 8 May 2018
Echuca

Moama Bowling Club, 6 Shaw St, Moama

 

Monday 23 April 2018

9:30am

Tuesday 24 April 2018
Footscray

Venue TBA

Monday 27 August 2018

9:30am

Tuesday 28 August 2018
Frankston

Venue TBA

Wednesday 21 March

9:30am

Thursday 22 March 2018
Geelong

Venue TBA

 

Monday 18 June 2018

10am

Tuesday 19 June 2018
Glenroy

177 Glenroy Rd, Glenroy

Monday 5 February 2018

9:30am

Tuesday 6 February 2018
Glen Waverley

Scope office, 7 Allen St Glen Waverley

 

Monday 23 October 2017

9:30am

Tuesday 24 October 2017
Horsham

Venue TBA

 

Monday 29 May 2018

9:30am

Tuesday 30 May 2018
Lakes Entrance

Venue TBA

Thursday 15 November 2018

9:30am

Friday 16 November 2018
Lilydale

Venue TBA

 

Monday 13 November 2017

9:30am

Tuesday 14 November 2017
Melton

Venue TBA

Monday 30 July 2018

9:30am

Tuesday 31 July 2018
Mildura

Venue TBA

Tuesday 9 October 2018

9:30am

Wednesday 10 October 2018
Mornington / Hastings

Hastings Community Health, 185 High St, Hastings

Monday 19 March 2018

10am

Tuesday 20 March 2018
Pakenham

Scope office, 6B Henry St, Pakenham

Monday 14 May 2018

10am

Tuesday 15 May 2018
Sale

Venue TBA

Monday 12 November 2018

10am

Tuesday 13 November 2018
Seymour

Venue TBA

Tuesday 18 September 2018

10am

Wednesday 19 September 2018
Shepparton

Venue TBA

Tuesday 4 September 2018

9:30am

Wednesday 5 September 2018
St Albans

Venue TBA

Monday 16 July 2018

9:30am

Tuesday 17 July 2018
Sunbury

Venue TBA

Monday 12 February 2018

9:30am

Tuesday 13 February 2018
Sunshine

Venue TBA

Monday 23 July 2018

9:30am

Tuesday 24 July 2018
Swan Hill

Venue TBA

Tuesday 23 October 2018

9:30am

Wednesday 24 October 2018
Wantirna

Venue TBA

 

Monday 20 November 2017

9:30am

Tuesday 21 November 2017
Werribee

Venue TBA

Monday 13 August 2018

9:30am

Tuesday 14 August 2018
Wonthaggi

Wonthaggi Club, 16 McBride Ave, Wonthaggi

Tuesday 5 June 2018

9:30am

Wednesday 6 June 2018

 

 

Kids Chat 2 You has been made possible by the generous support of the Bowness Family Foundation, Scope and Westfield.