At Kids Chat we provide communication aids such as books, picture-based timetables, social stories and apps for children with complex communication needs.

Did you know you can include communication aids in your child’s NDIS plan?

We are running free workshops in your local area to explain the different communication aids available and how they can be included in your NDIS plan.

Communication aids can help children:

  • get their message across
  • learn new skills
  • reduce anxiety and challenging behaviour
  • follow instructions
  • learn routines.

Free workshop

Come along to a two-hour group workshop. An experienced speech pathologist will be on hand to talk about:

  • non-electronic communication aids
  • how communication aids can help your child
  • how to request the right communication aids in your NDIS plan
  • local services and groups that can support your child.

The workshop is suitable for parents of children with complex communication needs, and teachers and therapists who support them.

Free consultations

We can also offer you a one-hour consultation to provide more individualised information. A speech pathologist will meet with you and your child to discuss your needs and help you find the right aids and supports.

You will also receive a free communication aid at the end of the consultation!

Bookings are essential

For more information, please contact Scope’s Communication & Inclusion Resource Centre on 03 9843 2000 or circ@scopeaust.org.au.

Workshop and Information Consultation Calendar

These details may be subject to change. Please register your interest and we will update you if there are any changes.

 

LocationDAY 1
Workshop (2hrs)
followed by consults
DAY 2

Consults all day

North/East Melbourne                                                Venue TBA
Tuesday 20 February 2018
9:30am
Wednesday 21 February 2018
Glenroy
Scope Glenroy Office (177 Glenroy Road, Glenroy)
Monday 26 February 2018
9:30am
Tuesday 27 February 2018
Sunbury
Venue TBA
Tuesday 6 March 2018
9:30am
Wednesday 7 March 2018
Mornington
Venue TBA
Thursday 22 March 2018
9:30am
Friday 23 March 2018
Frankston
Venue TBA
Tuesday 17 April 2018
9:30am
Wednesday 18 April 2018
Pakenham
Venue TBA
Thursday 3 May 2018
9:30am
Friday 4 May 2018
Caulfield
Venue TBA
Thursday 10 May 2018
9:30am
Friday 11 May 2018
Dandenong
Venue TBA
Tuesday 5 June 2018
9:30am
Wednesday 6 June 2018
Echuca
Venue TBA
Thursday 14 June 2018
10am
Friday 15 June 2018
Horsham
Venue TBA
Tuesday 24 June 2018
9:30am
Wednesday 25 June 2018
Geelong
Venue TBA
Thursday 28 June 2018
9:30am
Friday 29 June 2018
Melton
Venue TBA
Thursday 2 August 2018
9:30am
Friday 3 August 2018
St Albans
Venue TBA
Thursday 9 August 2018
9:30am
Friday 10 August 2018
Sunshine
Venue TBA
Thursday 16 August 2018
9:30am
Friday 17 August 2018
Wonthaggi
Venue TBA
Tuesday 21 August 2018
9:30am
Wednesday 22 August 2018
Werribee
Venue TBA
Tuesday 4 September 2018
9:30am
Wednesday 5 September 2018
Footscray
Venue TBA
Thursday 13 September 2018
9:30am
Friday 14 September 2018
Shepparton
Venue TBA
Thursday 27 September 2018
9:30am
Friday 28 September 2018
Seymour
Venue TBA
Thursday 18 October 2018
9:30am
Friday 19 October 2018
Mildura
Venue TBA
Tuesday 22 October 2018
9:30am
Wednesday 23 October 2018
Swan Hill
Venue TBA
Thursday 24 October 2018
9:30am
Friday 25 October 2018
Sale
Venue TBA
Monday 12 November 2018
9:30am
Tuesday 13 November 2018
Lakes Entrance
Venue TBA
Thursday 15 November 2018
9:30am
Friday 16 November 2018

Kids Chat 2 You has been made possible by the generous support of the Bowness Family Foundation, Scope and Westfield.