Pride Profile: Felix

Meet Felix

What is your name, age, and pronouns?
Felix. I am 62 years old. I am a non-binary person with they/them pronouns.

How long have you accessed Scope services?
Since I was five and have been to five different day centres – I’m not new at this.

Tell us about your experience as a queer person living with a disability?
It’s hard because I live in a straight house with straight people. I want to go out with and live with gay people.

When did you realise you were queer, and what was that experience like?
I realised when I was nine years old because I wanted to play with Barbie dolls and rip their heads off. It was fantastic.

What was your experience of coming out to friends and family like?
My parents are Italian and got a bit of a shock, but my brother thought it was cool. Two of my nieces also turned out to be gay. My friends were great. My mum got used to it and my dad got used to it after a while because my brother said I was doing great.

What are some of the challenges you have encountered navigating queerness as a person with a disability?
When I’m in a wheelchair and tell people I’m non-binary and when I’m with a carer they think I can’t do stuff. And they wonder how I do two services

What is your favourite thing about being queer?
Liking all girly things and getting excited and wearing scrunchies on my arms. To celebrate the fact that I’m gay.

How have you been able to engage with the queer community? Or has this been a challenge?
I did a long time ago, but now I don’t have the opportunity. I find it hard to engage with the gay community.

How can people be better allies to you?
Stop identifying me with who you see and start identifying me as Felix – non-binary and gay.

What else do you want people to know about being queer and having a disability?
Having a disability doesn’t mean you don’t have a brain and being queer doesn’t mean you don’t know who you are.