Kids Chat 2 You Communication Aids

At Kids Chat we provide communication aids such as books, picture-based timetables, social stories and apps for children with complex communication needs.

Did you know you can include communication aids in your child’s NDIS plan?

As part of the Kids Chat program, we are running Kids Chat 2 You, free workshops in your local area to explain the different communication aids available and how they can be included in your NDIS plan.

Communication aids can help children:

  • get their message across
  • learn new skills
  • reduce anxiety and challenging behaviour
  • follow instructions
  • learn routines.

Free workshop

Come along to a two-hour group workshop. An experienced speech pathologist will be on hand to talk about:

  • non-electronic communication aids
  • how communication aids can help your child
  • how to request the right communication aids in your NDIS plan
  • local services and groups that can support your child.

The workshop is suitable for parents of children with complex communication needs, and teachers and therapists who support them.

Free consultations

We can also offer you a one-hour consultation to provide more individualised information. A speech pathologist will meet with you and your child to discuss your needs and help you find the right aids and supports.

You will also receive a free communication aid at the end of the consultation!

Bookings are essential

Workshop and Information Consultation Calendar

These details may be subject to change. Please register your interest and we will update you if there are any changes.

LocationDAY 1
Workshop (2hrs)
followed by consults
DAY 2

Consults all day

Melton
Venue TBA
Thursday 2 August 2018
9:30am
Friday 3 August 2018
Melton
Venue TBA
Thursday 3 August 2018
12:30am
Friday 4 August 2018
St Albans
Venue TBA
Thursday 9 August 2018
9:30am
Friday 10 August 2018
St Albans
Venue TBA
Thursday 10 August 2018
12:30am
Friday 11 August 2018
Sunshine
Venue TBA
Thursday 16 August 2018
9:30am
Friday 17 August 2018
Wonthaggi
The Wonthaggi Club, 16 McBride Avenue, Wonthaggi VIC 3995
Tuesday 21 August 2018
9:30am
Wednesday 22 August 2018
Werribee
Venue TBA
Tuesday 4 September 2018
9:30am
Wednesday 5 September 2018
Werribee
Venue TBA
Tuesday 5 September 2018
12:30am
Wednesday  September 2018
Footscray
Venue TBA
Tuesday 11 September 2018
9:30am
Wednesday 12 September 2018
Footscray
Venue TBA
Tuesday 12 September 2018
12:30am
Wednesday 13 September 2018
Shepparton
Venue TBA
Tuesday 25 September 2018
9:30am
Wednesday 26 September 2018
Seymour
Venue TBA
Thursday 18 October 2018
9:30am
Friday 19 October 2018
Mildura
Venue TBA
Tuesday 23 October 2018
9:30am
Wednesday 24 October 2018
Swan Hill
Venue TBA
Thursday 25 October 2018
9:30am
Friday 26 October 2018
Sale
Venue TBA
Monday 12 November 2018
9:30am
Tuesday 13 November 2018
Lakes Entrance
Venue TBA
Thursday 15 November 2018
9:30am
Friday 16 November 2018



Kids Chat 2 You has been made possible by the generous support of the Bowness Family Foundation, Scope and Westfield.